He was born in 1946 and received his Doctor of Science (Physics) degree from Tohoku University in 1975. He became a Professor at Nagoya University in 1988 and has been a Professor at the Institute for Materials Research, Tohoku University, since 1997. He has won several honors and awards: Humboldt Award (Germany), Magnetics Society of Japan Award, Fellow of American Physical Society and Fellow of Institute Physics (UK). He is the Chair of the Magnetism Commission in the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP). His research field is theory of condensed matter.