• USA-2001

    For technical contributions to the field of information and system security, notably access control models and systems, and professional leaderhip in research journals and conferences.

Executive Director of the Institute for Cyber Security at the University of Texas at San Antonio since 2007, where he holds the Lutcher Brown Endowed Chair in Cyber Security in the Department of Computer Science, he was born in India where he was schooled at Doon School in Dehradun, India. He has been a U.S. Citizen since 1997. He holds B.Tech. and M.Tech. Degrees from IIT Bombay and Delhi, respectively and he received his M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from Rutgers University in New Jersey. Prior to this position at the University of Texas, San Antonio, he was on the faculty at Ohio State University from 1982 to 1989 and at George Mason University from 1989 to 2007. He is a 2001 ACM Fellow, 2002 IEEE Fellow, and a 2008 AAAS Fellow. He has received awards from IEEE, ACM, NSA and NIST including the 2004 IEEE Computer Society Technical Achievement Award, "For outstanding and pioneering contributions to information security including innovation of the role-based access control model and usage control." In addition, he is a recipient of the 2008 ACM SIGSAC Outstanding Contribution Award; the 2012 ACM SIGSAC Outstanding Innovation Award and the (1992 and 1998) NIST/NSA National Computer Security Conference Best Paper Awards. A prolific and highly cited author, his research has been funded by NSF, NSA, NIST, DARPA, AFOSR, ONR, AFRL and private industry. He has co-authored over 250 papers having accumulated over 25,000 Google Scholar citations. His paper on role-based access control established it as the dominant form of access control in practical systems accumulating over 6,000 citations. His numerous other models and mechanisms have also had considerable influence.