His current research interests include multimedia content analysis, computer vision, and pattern recognition. He has authored or co-authored over 200 book chapters, journal and conference papers. He holds over 30 US, Chinese, and international granted patents. He received paper prizes or awards from ACM MM 2009 (Best Paper Award), ACM MM 2010 (Best Paper Award), MMM 2010 (Best Paper Award), ICIMCS 2012 (Best Paper Award), ACM MM 2012 (Best Demo Award), ICDM 2014 (Best Student Paper Award), SIGIR 2015 (Best Paper Honorable Mention), IEEE TMM 2015 and 2016 (Prize Paper Award Honorable Mention), IEEE SMC 2017 (Best Transactions Paper Award), and ACM TOMM 2018 (Nicolas D. Georganas Best Paper Award). He is or has been an editorial board member of IEEE Trans. on Circuits and Systems for Video Technology, IEEE Trans. on Multimedia, IEEE Trans. on Knowledge and Data Engineering, IEEE Trans. on Neural Networks and Learning Systems, etc. He is the General Co-Chair of ICMR 2021, PCM 2018 and MMM 2013, and the Program Co-Chair of ICIMCS 2013.
2021年当选IEEE Fellow。