Marie-Francine (Sien) Moens is a full professor at the Department of Computer Science at KU Leuven, Belgium. She holds a M.Sc. and a Ph.D. degree in Computer Science from this university. She is head of the Language Intelligence and Information retrieval (LIIR) research group and is a member of the Human Computer Interaction unit. She is currently also head of the Informatics section of the Department of Computer Science at KU Leuven. Her main interests are in the domain of automated content recognition in text and multimedia data and its application in information extraction and retrieval using statistical machine learning, and exploiting insights from linguistic and cognitive theories. She investigates topics such as: Machine learning for natural language processing, especially learning with limited supervision. Machine learning for information retrieval, classification and aggregation. Deep learning and latent variable models. Information extraction from text, content recognition, machine reading, semantic parsing, discourse understanding, text mining, knowledge acquisition in the biomedical and legal domains. Information retrieval and search models, text based question answering and reasoning. Multimodal and multilingual processing, alignment, summarization and retrieval of content. Multimedia information retrieval. Processing of noisy text such as user generated content and speech transcripts. e-Forensics: content and email filtering. She is currently a member of the Council of the Industrial Research Fund of KU Leuven and is the scientific manager of the EU COST action iV&L Net (The European Network on Integrating Vision and Language). She is a member of the editorial board of the journal Foundations and Trends® in Information Retrieval. In 2011 and 2012 she was appointed as chair of the European Chapter of the Association for Computational Linguistics (EACL) and was a member of the executive board of the Association for Computational Linguistics (ACL). From 2010 until 2014 she was a member of the Research Council of KU Leuven.