• USA-1998

    For fundamental contributions to computer systems and architecture, by introducing and demonstrating the effectiveness of Shared Virtual Memory.

Research Interests
Parallel and distributed systems, operating systems, storage systems, computer architecture, large-scale data analysis,
and knowledge base construction
Kai Li (Chinese: 李凯; born 1954) is a Chinese-American computer scientist and professor of Princeton University. He is noted for his pioneering contributions to Distributed Shared Memory (DSM) and co-founding the leading storage deduplication company Data Domain Inc. which was acquired by EMC Corporation in 2009.
During his sabbatical from Princeton in 2001, with Ben Zhu and Brian Biles, Li co-founded Data Domain Corporation which built the first commercial deduplication storage system, opening up a new billion-dollar market. In June 2009, EMC Corporation acquired Data Domain for $2.4 billion, outbidding NetApp's previous offer.[6] In 2010, Data Domain product line captured 64.2% share of the market for purpose-built backup devices worldwide, including mainframes.

In Data Domain, he served as initial Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and then Chief Technology Officer (CTO) from October 2001 to August 2002. Since September 2002, he has served as its Chief Scientist, being responsible for leading the strategic direction for Data Domain's product vision.

Prior to joining Data Domain, he served as an industry consultant of AT&T, Bell Labs, Digital Equipment Corporation, Intel, and NEC. He served as a Director of Pattern Insight Inc. and served as advisory board members of EMC Corporation, Inphi Corporation, Intel research labs, and Open Innovation Center of Samsung Corporation.

He was elected as an Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) fellow and Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) fellow in 1998 and 2011, respectively. In 2012 he was elected to the National Academy of Engineering. He received Overseas Outstanding Contribution Award, China Computer Federation in 2008. He was elected a foreign member of the Chinese Academy of Engineering in 2017.