Preise, Auszeichnungen & Aktivitäten
2015: EUREKA Cluster Metallurgy Europe Office Director
2014: Member editorial board of the journal "npi Microgravity" of Nature Publishing Group
2014: Associate editor International Journal of Theoretical and applied Nanotechnology (IJTAN)
2014: Regional editor American Journal of Nanotechnology
2014: Editorial Board Annals of Materials Science and Engineering
2013: European editor, Journal of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology JNN
2013: Elected member, European Academy of Sciences and Arts, Salzburg, Austria
2012: Visiting Professor, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, USA
2011: Honorary Professor, Hefei University of Technology, Hefei, China
2010: Member of "Materials Science and Engineering Expert Committee (MatSEEC)", European Science Foundation (ESF)
2009: Panel chair of JOM R. Mehl award, TMS, USA
2009: Panel Chair Materials Science of ESSC at European Science Foundation ESF
2008: Adjunct Professor World Premier Institute, Tohoku Univ. Sendai, Japan
2007: Co-Chairman Science Council EML / ESA
2007: Overseas Professor, Anna University Chennai, India
2006: Member of Board ESF European Space Council
2005: Head of Nanomaterials activity of DGM
2004: Innovationspreis des VDI
2003: Pioneer of Nanotechnology (Deutsche Bank AG)
1998: G.W. Leibniz-Award (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, DFG)
1993-1997: Speaker of the Materials Science Laboratory of Deutsche
Forschungsgemeinschaft DFG on "High Temperature Materials for Turbine Engines"
1984: Fellow of Max-Kade-Gesellschaft (New York)
Chairman of several workshops and conferences, Member of International Advisory Committees of conferences, seminar series and journals on surface
engineering, nanomaterials and advanced materials